A Design So Vast

I really love this blog – A Design So Vast.

Today the author – Lindsey – answered some questions about herself.  They were such meaningful questions that I wanted to share my answers.  I would love to hear your answers too! 🙂

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

Loneliness.  There is something indescribably heart-breaking about facing a tough battle and discovering that you are completely alone.  If I had one wish for the world, it would be that no one would ever feel alone.

Where would you like to live?

I don’t have any specific place – I would make the most of wherever I am.  I think there is always something to experience and appreciate no matter where you are.  And something you can learn, and people you can help.

What is your idea of earthly happiness?

Making someone else smile.  Kissing my sleeping little man as I go to bed. A hot cup of tea.  Meditation.  Really connecting with another living being – whether it’s a person or animal.  For me particularly if it’s an animal – it seems like time stops.

To what faults do you feel most indulgent?

People who have made mistakes that they regret.  I feel an incredible empathy, as everyone makes mistakes, and is entitled to another chance.  

Who are your favourite characters in history?

I’m actually not very knowledge about history – one of my biggest failings I guess.  It’s just something I have never been interested in.

Who are your favourite heroines in real life?

Audrey Hepburn – without a doubt.  She has been my idol for as long as I can remember – she is feminine, and kind, and gentle and classy.  She speaks beautifully and just radiates an innocence.

Your favourite painter?

Van Gough.  My favourite painting of his is Starry Night, closely followed by Starry Night Over the Rhone.

Your favourite musician?

I’m not sure I could narrow it down to one.  My favourites would be:  Chris Martin (from Coldplay), Bono, Jeff Buckley, Paul Simon and Billy Joel.

The qualities you most admire in a man?

Kindness, humour, the ability to make me feel safe and cared for, and a sense of fun.

The qualities you most admire in a woman?

Independence, Elegance, Softness.

Your favourite virtue?

Honesty, Integrity, Compassion.

Your favourite occupation?

A carer or therapist.

Who would you have liked to be?

A Buddhist Nun.  Failing that, I would have liked to have had a very simple, and honest life as a housewife/mother.  Raising children, looking after my partner, and volunteering in the community.

I would LOVE to hear you answers to these questions.

Blessings,

Meg

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

6 responses to “A Design So Vast

  1. The kindness of your heart spills through even in these questions. I found myself drawn to so many of your answers and especially the last one about being a Buddhist nun or then the simple honest life of a housewife/mother. I am right now reading the wonderful book Old Path White Clouds – Walking in the Footsteps of the Buddha by Thich Nhat Hanh and it traces the history of the life of the Buddha and the special stories of his first followers of bhikkus and bhikkunis. In the context of such beautiful examples of humility and equanimity, I can just see you. You might be interested to know that I was going to become a missionary after university. But somehow Life had other plans and other paths. But that’s another story! 😀 Thanks Meg for sharing your heart. Sending you blessings and a big hug to your little man. My little man turns 7 tomorrow. My heart is full just to be able to kiss and stare at him as he sleeps.
    All my love,
    Shaz

    • Oh Shaz, you truly have the most beautiful spirit. I can’t tell you how much your kind words mean to me – each comment you leave makes me feel so touched and grateful. Much love to you beautiful friend, Love Meg

  2. Borrowing those questions for my blog, thanks!! ~With Metta

  3. Oh Meg, I was so moved by what you wrote here! I love Lindsey’s site, too. It’s a regular that I visit, like yours. Meg, I tell you, what a beautiful heart you have! I was intrigued by Audrey Hepburn! I love how you don’t have a specific place where you’d love to live — that wherever you go, there you are (Jon Kabatt Zinn). Thank you. This gave me a deeper glimpse into that beautiful heart of yours. Love, lisa

Leave a Reply

