The Elegance of Slow

Living courageously is choosing to find, notice, cultivate, and savor the good RIGHT here in our everyday lives! 

~  Lisa, www.barefootbarn.com

 

I feel like the Universe is trying to tell me something this week – about the value of mindfulness , and truly experiencing and enjoying the present moment.

It started with a surprising conversation with my brother over a copy of “Zen Mind, Beginners Mind”.

And followed on with:

A beautiful experience yesterday holding an injured bird, and tenderly stroking it and whispering to it.

A wonderful recent blog post by Lisa at the The Barefoot Barn.  Her blog post touched me very deeply.  It was about finding the good in every day life.  As she said in her post:  

“This is EXACTLY when we need to PAUSE.  To stop right in that moment you feel a tightness coming across your chest.  And soften.  Looooook fooooor the gooooooood.  It’s right here.  In your everyday life.  This is where the magic is — right here in the messiness of our ordinary day.  Put down your cell phone.  Let the dinner-making be for a bit.  Pull out a popsicle if you need to!  And hold your little one – your toddler or teenager – and look at them!  Look at them with regard and love.”

 

And then today, listening to a dharma talk by Gil Fronsdal, and the 4 Foundations of Mindfulness.

So many wonderful reminders to just stop and notice the present moment.

To pause, and breathe and reflect.

It’s especially a great reminder for me to just slow down.  

These days society exemplifies busyness and multitasking.  The more you do, the more you achieve, the more you can juggle, the better a person you are – apparently.

I am taking a stand against this common misconception.

I am going to slow down.  

Life goes by too quickly.  My son will be a teenager before I know it.  And I don’t want to look back and regret the time I didn’t spend with him.

I’m going to enjoy the luxury of sitting and chatting to him while he has his bath.  Instead of rushing around washing the dishes and folding clothes.

I am going to pause and see – really see – the people I am speaking to.  Instead of stopping for a rushed hello as I race off to my next destination.

I’m going to allow myself the luxury of a slowly drinking my tea – savouring every mouthful.

I’m going to sit and eat my dinner without distractions – no computer, no TV.  Enjoying the tastes and textures, and the comfort in a home-cooked meal.

I’m going to accomplish less, and enjoy more.

I invite you to join me in “the elegance of slow”.

Blessings, Meg

 Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

20 responses to “The Elegance of Slow

  1. AWAKENING

    Beside the drive a morning surprise
    The first shoots of this year’s crocuses
    Peeking out from under the covers
    And whispering a sleepy greeting

  2. Meg, What a gem you are to share! Brian and I have started recording little homemade videos of living and parenting mindfully. Well, wouldn’t you know…yesterday i recorded one on SLOWING DOWN. Dropping the hurry. That’s what I called it — dropping the hurry. I noticed that after leaving the Y, after getting a chance to exercise while my dad was with the kiddos, I started to rush — feeling guilty for “leaving” the kiddos etc etc (that cascade of mama guilt). Well, I just noticed this and said, “Ok, Lis, slow down. Drop the hurry. Soften.” And so I recorded that. (soon we’ll share. I’m still a bit shy, funny and ironically enough!). So so much love and light to you (and that you have IN you — that inspires me!). Love, Lisa http://www.barefootbarn.com

  3. That is my mantra for this year, “The elegance of slow.” I’m with you. While others are doing more, making bigger resolutions, striving for better or best, I’m slowing down. I get that we’re all where we are and I’m grateful to be in this place. Good post. Thank you.

  4. i look very hard for the good every day, sometimes it is small what i see, but i see it. great and inspiring post!

  5. Meg, I am going to slow down too. There’s a lot of wisdom in that. Below all the layers I have this [built-in from social conditioning] quite mistaken idea about having to ‘achieve’ something; it’s getting in the way. Thanks for a nice post

    • Thank you so much for that lovely comment :-).

      It’s hard to move past – as we are conditioned to rush from a very young age. I have caught myself so often lately rushing when there is absolutely no need to. I have to stop and soften and allow myself just to wander, and enjoy the walk.

      Blessings to you, Meg

  6. Hi,

    I have just found your blog and it is lovely! I am going to follow!

    I was diagnosed with MS recently and it is progressing quite quickly. Mindfulness is becoming a very important part of my every minute life,

    This post is very good for me, reminding me to be mindful in everyrhing I do. I am getting better at it . 😊

    There is a quote I love by Walter Hagen – “Don’t worry, don’t hurry and don’t forget to smell the flowers along the way”. I try to smell the flowers every day even in winter when there aren’t any!

    Christine

    • Christine – thank you so much for visiting my blog and sharing your story ♥. My heart goes out to you – what a beautiful way to handle what is no doubt a devastating time. Please keep in touch. And keep smiling :-). Blessings, Meg

  7. I have been feeling the same way. I recently was racing around my house doing things like I had a time limit on me. I was functioning like when I worked in corporate America and had deadlines all the time. I finally said to myself, ok, so what if I don’t get it accomplished to day, so what? I join you in slowing down. Sounds really good to me. Great article 🙂

  8. Beautiful post. Thank you for this great reminder. _/|\_

  9. Reblogged this on Jonathan Hilton and commented:
    Awesome!

  10. Meg,

    I cannot tell you how important this message feels to me. In Zen we say there is no such thing as “multi-tasking” and I know it’s true. To be fully present and engaged in exactly what I am doing and who I am with in the moment is all I seek.

    Thank you.

    Tom

    • Oh Tom that message means so much to me! I so much agree with that. I used to be proud of my mult-tasking efforts. Now I am trying to re-programme myself to just concentrate on one thing at a time, mindfully and with purpose.

      Blessings, Meg

Leave a Reply

