Pay it backwards

I’m reading a great book at the moment which talks about the “opposite” of RAOK’s (Random Acts of Kindness), and that is basically to pay it backwards.

To thank those people who have made a difference in your life.  No matter how big or small.

It might be the person who was extra helpful to you at the store today.

Or it might be the teacher who inspired you to become what you are today.

There are so many opportunities for gratitude, and to say thank you.

And personally this is something that I LOVE doing.  

A lot of people are quick to complain about things they don’t like – bad service, inferior products etc.  However they don’t tend to notice or value really good service or positive experiences.  So not long ago I made it my intention to always recognise when somebody had gone out of their way to do something nice for me.  If it’s in a service environment, I will contact their Manager to let them know.  If it’s a company, and I love their product, I will send a letter.

It all adds a little more kindness and positivity to the world.

And the more I read this book the more inspired I am to dig back deeper into my past.  And get in touch with those people who have made a difference in my life, and say thank you, and let them know how much it has meant to me.

If anyone else decides to do this, I would love to hear your experiences ♥

 

A picture my son drew for our landlord

Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

13 responses to “Pay it backwards

  1. it’s a lovely habit to develop. I’ve gone back, a few times, and written thank yous to people who made a difference in my life.

  2. so very true, we should all do it!

  3. I think this is a great idea! I hope it catches on in a big way!

    Russ

  4. This is a great idea! I actually took notice of something similar on a military base in Oklahoma a few months ago. EVERYONE said thank you – for everything! Even if you didn’t do them a favor. At first it threw me off, but by the end of my trip I was doing it too, and I’ve done my best to bring the habit back home with me…thank you for the reminder!!

  5. Love it. I always think about this from time to time and remember to be thankful for the kindness of people but life is in such a hurry sometimes. Will think of it more often after your post. Thanks!!!!!!!!!

  6. Great reminder – thank you! I was looking for another blog to feature today, I just found it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

