Giving without expectation

I was thinking further on my post from yesterday about Acts of Service.

There are so many little things we can do to show people that we care, without expecting anything in return.

Here are some of my favourites…

  • Give money (that you can spare) to someone who needs it and then pretend you never had it.
  • Listen to someone fully and openly – without jumping in with your own story, or the temptation to offer a solution. Give them the respect of your full attention, and show them that what they have to say is important to you.
  • Don’t ask someone if you they need help.  Follow your intuition, and just do what you feel in your heart would be the right thing for them in that situation.

 

The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.
Mahatma Gandhi

Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

8 responses to “Giving without expectation

  1. I especially like #3. If you want to help someone – just do it! 🙂

    • Thank you so much 🙂 :-). Actually this is one of my favourites too. I notice that if you genuinely want to help someone, you won’t ask, you will just do it. And those times that you do ask, people are sometimes too proud (and too strong) to accept your offer.

  2. That is beautiful! i love it! we all need to practice it each day

  3. Great tips, Megan.

    I don’t know if you saw my blog yesterday, “Help Needed for Changes to Streams of Consciousness.” I’m expanding my blog to include guests posts on Wed. and Fri. that are focused on different conscious living themes. I would be honored to have you write something on any of the themes. Would you be able to do that?

    If you missed my post yesterday you can catch it at: http://brendamarroyauthor.com.
    Thank you Megan. Your words always make sense to me.

    • Thank you so much Brenda! :-). Actually I did see that! And I bookmarked it so that I could reply. I would be honoured to write something for you!! :-). Definitely, I will do that. Is there any particular theme you would like me to cover? Love & blessings, Meg

      • Pick the one that hums for you.
        Anything you write about conscious living will be worth reading. I’m delighted that you are going to make a contribution. Thank you and I look forward to whatever you send. 🙂

  4. So Beautiful. I can finally say that I have met real friends who know how to listen and help ❤

Leave a Reply

