My vows

I vow to live as an instrument of peace.  To live a simple, sincere, gentle and serene life.  
 
I will cultivate cheerfulness, compassion, and hope.  Only speaking words that are true, necessary, and kind.
 
I shall exercise economy in expenditure, generosity in giving, diligence in my faith, and fidelity to every trust.  
 
Where there is darkness, I will bring light.  Where there is intolerance, I will bring understanding.  Where there is despair, I will bring hope.  Where there is sadness I will bring joy.
 
I shall not seek to be consoled, but to console.  To understand, and not be understood.  To love, and to be loved.
 
My soul is open, and my heart is ready.
 
Image
About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

11 responses to “My vows

  1. Reblogged this on Gems of Delight and commented:
    I am always moved by Meg’s words of wisdom and how she lives. Thank you, Meg!

  2. I love your words. I love to be able to do the same. I have always wanted that, I have always tried, and have even been bullied for this. I was called in a negative way “Mother Theresa” or “Virgin Mary”, but what they don’t know is that Mother Theresa is one of my Idols and I would be very proud to be compared to her.
    Those words are amazing. I love this :” I shall not seek to be consoled, but to console. To understand, and not be understood. To love, and to be loved.” I will keep trying. I feel I am failing but I will certainly keep trying

    • You are far from failing – you inspire me! And I also think to be compared to Mother Theresa would be the ultimate compliment :-). She is one of my greatest inspirations. Keep on believing ♥

  3. Wonderful vows with wonderful sentiments. Thanks for sharing.

  4. thesubterraneanworld

    This is very beautiful! Thank you for sharing.
    Blessings,
    -Naima.

  5. Beautifully written! These kinds of vows make the world a better place. Peace, Mark

Leave a Reply

