Everyday Wisdom #31

Star in someone else’s movie

Today think of someone with whom you may currently be experiencing tension or conflict.

Get a journal, or piece of paper, and write out the situation….

…. from their perspective

Don’t over think it.  Just write from the heart.   You want to feel their emotions, not think them.  

This is an exercise in seeing a situation from another person’s point of view.

 

“Empathy depends not only on one’s ability to identify someone else’s emotions but also on one’s capacity to put oneself in the other person’s place and to experience an appropriate emotional response”
Charles G. Morris

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

15 responses to “Everyday Wisdom #31

  1. There is a beautiful “process” I learned years ago in my mindfulness-based stress reduction class on taking the other person’s perspective (writing out “their” version/thru their eyes), dialoguing between the two of you, and then eventually arriving at a place of forgiveness and connection. This is a lovely reminder, Meg! Thank you.

    • Oh Lisa, that sounds very interesting! I would love to hear more of what you learnt from your class.

      I’ve tried practising this many times myself, and it’s interesting the levels of resistance that my mind puts up at times. Not wanting to stand down from my view point and grievances. Well consciously I do, but subconsciously it’s more difficult 🙂

      If I can work through it though it’s really so beneficial ♥

      • OH Meg, totally — the levels of resistance. And I have always found it interesting that I’ll think “Oh that’s the final layer” and then…I see there is another layer to cast off, another veil there to be lifted. Like you, Meg, i am finding that when i do less and less with a feeling or a situation with a person and just OPEN and breathe and hold it in spaciousness and evoke a bit of compassion…things shift. I’m slowly getting it!

      • I adore the way you write Lisa! :-). That is so true!!!

  2. I appreciate this Megan. It gives one the opportunity to see from another’s viewpoint and is very powerful. Thank you.

  3. I think it is a very useful exercise. Thank you

  4. This is so awesome, thanks for this! Such a powerful exercise

  5. Reblogged this on onebreathmeditation and commented:
    This is a wonderful, very powerful exercise for chaning your perspective and getting out of your ego

Leave a Reply

