Acknowledge with gratitude

I am excited again by this weeks assignment in The Power of Kindness class.

This week we are encouraged to “Pay special attention to any kindness that is extended to you this week, no matter how small. Choose at least one of these kind acts and acknowledge it with gratitude”.

The accompanying chapter we had to read has resonated with me so much.

Especially this paragraph:

“Let us think, then, about the people in our life to whom we are grateful.  There are plenty of people – many more than we believe – who perhaps have done us good, even though we may not have fully acknowledged it:  parents, friends, teachers, lovers, and in general all who have made our life a lot or even a little better, like the postman who delivers our mail every day, or the taxi driver who tells us a good joke”.

From:  The Power of Kindness, by Piero Ferrucci

 

Reading that paragraph has caused such a profound shift and revelation for me.

I’ve always been a grateful person.  Or so I thought.  But my understanding of gratitude was somewhat limited.

I love that it can be extended to such small things.  Like the postie who delivers the mail.

How true that is!

So today I wanted to list the small things that I am grateful for:

  • The man who was delivering bread to my local corner store this morning.  As I was walking out, he was walking in.  And he was just so kind and friendly.  It made my day.
  • My postie.  Who stopped to talk to (and pat) a neighbourhood dog as he delivered the mail.
  • My neighbours.  Who looked after my son, and I, when I was really sick last weekend.

and finally

  • My little boy.  Who never fails to make me proud with his kind and giving nature.  On Monday night I went to bed to find he’d left a surprise for me.  When I had tucked him into bed earlier, I had offered him my torch for the night.  He has a favourite blue one that he likes to take to bed “just in case”.  He loved the idea of taking my torch for the night.  However after I left his room, he’d snuck out of bed, and into my room and put his favourite blue torch on my bedside table.  So that I would have one if I needed it.

When I walked into my room to see that my heart completely melted.  One of the most beautiful and thoughtful (and genuine) things anyone has ever done for me.

What small things can you be grateful for today?

Who has helped to make your life just that little bit happier today?

 

 

At times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person. Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the flame within us.
Albert Schweitzer

Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

14 responses to “Acknowledge with gratitude

  1. Hello- Thanks so much for this post, everything you said was so very uplifting and positive. I especially enjoyed the story about your son and his favorite torch 🙂

    What am I grateful for today? I am grateful for time to think, smile, and write. I am also thankful for my husband, who brings great joy to my life.

    Have a wonderful day!

    • Thank you so much for reading, and your beautiful comment :-).

      I am grateful for the same things. And for warm raisin toast with butter for breakfast. For the sunshine streaming into my living room. Just for life 🙂

      Love & blessings, Meg

  2. I am so grateful I found your site. I truly enjoy what you share and have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award on my site http://tamingtheinvisibledragon.com. Thanks for all that you do!
    Blessings
    Sloan

  3. Ahhhh your quote here is perfect for your story w/ Sam! What a little honey he sounds like. I know those moments of your heart melting – unplanned – you just walk in to it. It is amazing these little gestures from our kiddos that make our hearts swell with such love and gratitude. My two children are truly my greatest teachers. They open (and challenge) my heart like no one else – no other teacher.

  4. our little blessings far out weigh the larger ones

  5. ohhhhh….that is so precious that your son made sure you had a torch by your bed…that was so kind and thoughtful of him…. : ) …there are soooo many small and wonderful acts of kindness offered to us all each day..and so special that you’re bring appreciative awareness to them… : )

  6. I’m grateful today for the understanding of how to navigate on my blogsite. I have a semi-difficult time with anything electronic so navigating computer pages is not always easy for me.

  7. Today I’m grateful for my boss who is paying for my Internet connection. Without Internet, i wouldn’t be reading your Blog

  8. We have alot to learn from our kids!He is a responsible boy, looking after his mom.Doing everything for my family makes me happy, making their meals, dressing my kids up, giving them showers, cleaning up my house, going out on weekends….EVERYTHING which involves my family.Looking forward to the weekend!

Leave a Reply

