Everyday Wisdom #28

In sickness and in health

For most of today I was the sickest I have ever been.  Through either food poisoning, or a virus.  All I know was that it was very challenging.

I’m so grateful though to have the support of a wonderful neighbourhood of people around me.

One family took my 6yo boy and looked after him for the day.

Another brought me drugs so that I could finally progress from the bathroom into my bed.

I can’t even put into words how grateful I am to each and every one of them.

They are truly my family ♥

I am also very thankful for the experience of actually being sick.  It was a great opportunity to be mindful of my automatic reactions to the illness.

And to note my feelings of distress at how sick I was.  And my feelings of panic and anxiety.

I was even amused to note my thought patterns.  Which were along the line of “this is a catastrophe!  I knew that I shouldn’t have gotten my hopes up and felt happiness.  I’ll never be happy again”.

Can anyone say drama queen??!

Buddhism urges us to awaken to the fact that illness is not something permanent in life- it is a temporary phenomenon.  When we fall ill, we tend to see the current sickness as the only thing that matters and therefore it can be a foreboding obstacle separating us from happiness.

Some people who are ill may even lose the will to live out their existence joyfully.

However, when we realize that becoming ill is a natural part of our lives -and that it can be an opportunity to build an even more solid foundation of happiness in ourselves – then, we can tap the courageous spirit to face the illness and battle it.

And as pale sickness does invade, Your frailer part, the breaches made, In that fair lodging still more clear, Make the bright guest, your soul, appear.
Edmund Waller

Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

14 responses to “Everyday Wisdom #28

  1. during my medical studies I learned that illness serves a purpose:

    being ill = getting better

    that implies also: you’r not becoming the “old one” after being healed, you will become “the new one”

    so: there is much opportunity to be found in being physically or mentally ill, but it helps if you are spiritually well as you clearly demonstrate 🙂

    regards
    Francois

  2. I applaud your thinking here. I am sorry you were sick, yuck, but I know what you mean, actually it IS an opportunity to reconnect with your inner self, make observations, see if anything needs adjusting. Well, you know what I mean to say, I’m sure. Though I don’t like being in pain, and not being able to walk well, it DOES serve a purpose and it has made me more grateful.

    Sounds like you have fabulous neighbors. ♥

  3. You are well loved. Glad you’re feeling better 🙂
    *hugs*

  4. Glad you’re feeling better and thanks for the beautiful words of wisdom. There is nothing like sickness to show us how attached we are to being in a constant state of health, and feeling good.

  5. you are so remarkable. to have such great thoughts while going back and forth from bed to bathroom. thanks for sharing with me

  6. I certainly hope you are feeling better today, friend.

  7. I found that being sick was much more emotionally difficult once I became a mother…the worries over who would take care of her etc…How wonderful that you have supportive neighbors…
    And wow!…you really were able to use the “being sick” experience to learn and grow….now THAT is remarkable!

Leave a Reply

