Reflections

I recently developed a habit of daily reflection.

 

Reflection on my life, and my practice – and the direction it is heading in.  

Reflection of the events of the day, and what I would do differently if I could do it over again.

Reflection of my friendships and relationships, and areas where I could improve.

 

I try to use it as a learning tool.  To help me to improve myself – to grow and gain wisdom.

I have learnt:

  • Reflection helps us learn from our mistakes.  Otherwise we are destined to repeat them over and over again.  
  • With reflection we can more clearly see all the things that are going right in our lives.  And really enjoy and appreciate those things – instead of letting them slip by unnoticed and uncelebrated.
  • Reflection helps us to gain perspective.  That what we are stressing about is really not that big a deal in the grand scheme of things.  Will we remember it when we are 90?  If not, then it’s not worth stressing over.
  • It assists us to keep an eye on our faults and hindrances and to keep them in check

Make time to reflect on your life – at least once per day.  

This can be done whilst exercising – walking or running.

Or as part of writing in a journal at the end of the day.  The added benefit to writing in a journal is that it records a personal learning journey, tracking and documenting an evolving understanding and wisdom.

If you are facing a difficult situation or event in your life, it can be helpful to consider the following:

  • Describe the situation as objectively as possible (write it down)
  • What are the assumptions that you are operating with?
  • Is there another way to see this situation?
  • What could you do differently?
  • What can you do to create a change?
 
 
By three methods we may learn wisdom:
First, by reflection, which is noblest;
Second, by imitation, which is easiest;
and third by experience, which is the bitterest.
Confucius

Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

12 responses to “Reflections

  1. Have you ever kept a gratitude journal? I occasionally love to keep a gratitude journal and list three things in the day that I was grateful for and reflect on them. It is a beautiful exercise. 🙂

  2. I really like how your three reflection questions at the end of the day. Again, succinct and to the point. Gets right to it. I will incorporate these into my daily practice too. I like how you included a reflection about your practice and also your relationships. On a DAILY basis. Don’t know why I didn’t think of this before. Thank you, Meg! Lisa

  3. I believe in one thing – and that is:If you don’t learn from your mistakes, then life has it’s own way to teaching you, and that way is the hardest.

  4. This is very helpful. I am printing this out for future reference. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

