Laughter and love amongst the loss

Once a year I spend a day in the breast clinic of my local hospital.

Last year I witnessed something so beautiful and heart-warming that it changed me….

The waiting room was full, as it always is.

All of us sitting, in our paper gowns, waiting for our name to be called.  

To have our scans, our biopsies, our checkups.

Some of us leave afterwards, and put it out of our minds for another year.

Some of the women are not so lucky.  They receive the news that everyone dreads.  They get to sit in the “special chair”.  The one with the box of tissues and the curtain that draws around.

Last year though I saw hope and laughter amongst the confusion and worry.

I saw a lady warmly greet and embrace another.  The meeting of 2 long lost friends.

Then another was welcomed into their embrace.  And then another.   And then another (and so on).

And these beautiful ladies sat there, in their paper gowns.  And they made each other tea and coffee. And laughed and smiled and talked.  They caught up on each others lives.

A meeting of beautiful friends who obviously decided to make a positive experience out of their yearly visit.

Their positivity was inspiring and so beautiful to witness.

It was a wonderful experience and I feel incredibly blessed to have seen it.

 

I find hope in the darkest of days, and focus in the brightest.

~ Dalai Lama

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

12 responses to “Laughter and love amongst the loss

  1. Inspirational – I wish I had this experience when I go for my screening!
    Beautiful – thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Thank you :-). It really did brighten up my day so much. I have 20+ breast tumours (that have to be measured and biopsied each time). So it can be not the most pleasant experience, but this made me smile so much 🙂 ♥

  2. that would have been beautiful to witness

  3. THAT is very beautiful. You are so right about that. Thank you for sharing this. It’s very touching.

  4. Son

    A shared burden is a lighter burden, the saying goes. It is friends like them that makes your world a better place.

  5. That’s really commendable.Why sit in a row like your on death sentence? (God Forbid!) Mind power makes those things happen which you think,so thinking positive, leaving your worries behind is the key to avoid the unfavorable!

  6. What special kindness and connection there is among this group of women…and how special for you to get to see and share in that warmth.

    • It was really so beautiful to witness :-). I have 20+ tumours that have to be measured and biopsied each time, so it is easily for me to become a little glum sitting there, but that really opened my eyes and made me appreciate life and friendships.

      • I wonder if learning to live with concerns like those about all those tumors might have lead to the wisdom I perceive in you at a much younger age than one might normally develop wisdom…I’ve wondered how that might have developed so young…do you think that has something to do with it for you?.

      • That’s such a wonderful question :-). I think so. I think everything happens for a reason, and I have gone through these things in order to develop wisdom and understanding needed to help other people (hopefully). There’s been numerous challenges over the years – as everyone else faces as well. But they have really helped me to grow and develop and learn.

Leave a Reply

