I will help you

Once again I have been inspired by listening to a dharma talk by Sylvia Boorstein.

In the talk, she was suggesting the idea that everyone who wants to demonstrate their willingness to help other people, and to be approachable, wear a green vest.

To signify that they are welling to help.

If these people were to put on a green vest, and go about their business as usual, people around them would know that if they are lost, or confused, or need help, to look for a person in a green vest.

I would like to start my own movement.

I will wear a pink flower in my hair.

As my vow to you of kindness and empathy. Β And my willingness to be there for you.

I plan to have a t-shirt made with “I am here to help” and a pink flower.

So if you see me out and about, come up and say hi.

Let me know how you are.

Love & blessings to you all β™₯

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

13 responses to “I will help you

  1. coachdougbowers

    I feel I was put on this earth specifically to help others. It is something I have been doing most of my life, without really realizing it, until it was pointed out by those around me. Helping is a blessing.
    Well done.

    Doug

    • Thank you so much Doug :-). For me it’s a calling I have just recently felt very strongly. Since I went through my own troubles, now I want to help other people who are suffering. Thank you for your lovely comment :-). I hope you are well? Meg

  2. coachdougbowers

    it’s a funny thing really. Since it was pointed out awhile ago by some friends I look back over the years with a different eye. I have found myself in many strange situations in countries all over the world, and invariably I ended up assisting someone through some kind of difficult situation. I’d like to write about it but my skills lack badly in that area and I wouldn’t want it to come across as boasting. So for now I will just continue to do what I do…as you do also.
    doug

  3. A green vest! Oh my goodness what was she thinking???!! A pink flower πŸ™‚ Now that makes so much more sense – although may be a bit tricky for the helpful males out there!

    It’s funny but I actually think we were all put on this earth to help – why else would we be here? We all have different skills to help each other & I think those people that are not happy in their lives may find happiness if they realised how much enjoyment there is in helping others. I demonstrate my willingness to help by interacting with people I come across every day – I smile at people I walk past & I talk with strangers in lifts or supermarket’s (often embarassing my children in the process πŸ˜‰ ). If I can make someone smile – or even better make them laugh, then I’ve achieved my goal (another thing I learned from my parents!) What do I wear to signify I’m willing to help? A smile and eye contact. I find both match all my outfits beautifully & don’t have to worry if they’re in the wash πŸ˜‰

    PS. I’m seriously liking the pink flower idea though so may add that as well, thanks for the suggestion! πŸ™‚

    • Lol Judy – I love that!!! :-). Yes I must admit I did think about whether the pink flower would really work with both sexes. But I think there are a lot of men out there brave enough to wear a pink flower (in their breast pocket perhaps?? πŸ˜‰ ).

  4. I chose to wear orange or a shade of orange pretty much all the time as a sign of my commitment to help others with compassion. The only other thing I changed in my attire is a smile. I also choose to be active and seek out those who may need help. If I see someone in need of help whether it be door opened, something carried, or directions I make the effort to go to them and help them. Afterwards I just smile and walk away with no attachment. Attempting to do the action spontaneously and with compassion.

    One thing I always keep in mind is to help others for their sake and not mine, hence the spontaneity, otherwise it is premeditated and I am doing it for my own benefit and selfish reasons. Merit done for merits sake is not done in the right spirit.

    My daughter says that she can always tell where I am in a crowd by my shirts but perhaps others can “see” me by my smile and my willingness to help and that is more important than what I am wearing.

    That said. The flower looks lovely in your hair.

    • Thank you so much for your comment – you raise so many great points. And in hindsight I am loving the idea of the orange! Being the colour that the monks where, it holds extra significance.

      I think that’s a great point too. It’s easy to tell someone who is ‘open’ and smiling and approachable. It shows on their face, and in their body language. You don’t need to wear anything special (other than a smile) to signify that.

  5. I believe the most effective way i can help others is by words.Words are the color i wear to help others. When people sitting around me, who are strangers are struggling finding the words, i help them by breaking the ice.I try to chant healing words which can soothe a heart.My blog is another attempt to show compassion which heals.I am always trying counselling , doesn’t matter whether i am a good counselor or not, What matters is that i try!

  6. But…if i was to wear a color to show i can help, I probably will wear a p-cap full with all the colors of life!:)

  7. That is so true – and another great point. That we don’t need particular clothes or slogans to demonstrate our willingness to help. That our actions speak louder than words. Much love to you β™₯

Leave a Reply

