Reach for a book and you touch the stars

Sometimes you can be lucky enough to find a book that changes you forever.

I’ve always been a huge reader – I love it.  Although these days I do tend to read more non-fiction than fiction.

However one book in particular that has stayed with me since I read it is “Kafka on the shore” by Japanese author Haruki Murakami.

Some of the content was difficult to read at times (as in subject matter).  However it was so completely different, and utterly fascinating, that it is impossible to forget.

It’s also the first book that I have read that heavily featured a particular piece of music.

Piano Trio, Op. 97 (Archduke) by Beethoven

After finishing the book I felt compelled to find this piece of music, and listen to it.  And I am so glad I did.  It immediately became my favourite piece of classical music.

What books have you read that have changed your life?

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

15 responses to “Reach for a book and you touch the stars

  1. I love it when a really great book carries you deeply into another artistic medium, and particularly into the universe of a great master or masterpiece. I recall having felt that way about Siegfried Lenz’s THE GERMAN LESSON–a masterful novel about a boy who “sees” the Nazi occupation of Denmark through the perspective of his landscape paintings. Thanks for sharing this suggestion–I’ll add it to my summer reading list!

  2. “The Alchemist”, definitely. However, the most recent book to drastically change my life was “The Untethered Soul” :-). Great post!

  3. “The Alchemist”, from way back when. Most recently changing my life was “The Untethered Soul”. Great Post.

  4. Books really do stay with us and they take us to places we could not imagine to go to – what a blessing the are indeed.

    • I have always been such a big reader. I remember in High School that if I was reading, a bomb could go off and I would be oblivious. One time the entire class was calling my name and I didn’t notice lol 🙂

  5. It has to be The Road Less Travelled – by M Scott Peck

  6. Over the years, I’ve read a number of books that have changed my life.
    The one that stands out the most to me at this time is “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle.
    That book actually catapulted me into a different way of being in the world.

    Every book I read by: Pema Chodron, Oriah Mountain Dreamer, and Gregg Braden change my life. I learn new concepts and my life is enriched by these authors. There are also a few poets whose words leave a mark on my soul, like: Rumi, Mary Oliver, and David Whyte.

  7. All Paulo Coelho’s books esp. “The Alchemist” and All Nicholas Sparks Books esp. “A walk to remember”, (cinematized with Mandy Moore and Shane West)!

Leave a Reply

