Everyday Wisdom #9

Turn off your TV

Dedicate some time today to being “TV free”.  

Turn off your TV, and use the time to instead learn something.

Become better informed about someone who inspires you.  Someone who has changed your world for the better.

Perhaps the Dalai Lama, or Martin Luther King, or Mahatma Gandhi.

Or teach yourself to knit, or sew.

Or use the time to read a (non-fiction) book.  

Start to learn something you’ve always wanted to.

 

Be a student so long as you still have something to learn, and this will mean all your life. 

~ Henry L. Doherty

Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

21 responses to “Everyday Wisdom #9

  1. I would like to say “YES!” a thousand times to this post!! Life is too precious and short to burn it away in front of the “tube”!!! Those hours won’t come back!

  2. I used to be glued to the television all the time growing up and even a year ago. But my son has taught me that there’s more to life and he is fascinated with everything around him. Makes me want to do better and experience everything in life. Thank you so much for sharing this post.

    • Thank you so much for your comment :-). I totally understand what you mean – I have a 6yo boy. We spend our time outside playing instead of watching TV. I actually turned it on for the first time after 3 weeks of not using it only to find it wasn’t working. So we definitely aren’t missing it 🙂

      • lol that must have been a sign telling you to keep doing what you are doing. My son will be 2 in May and he loves being outside. I think sunshine always makes people happier especially when you breathe in the air and watch the beauty of the world around you.

      • Me too :-). I adore the sunshine, and need to have at least some each day (unless it’s raining obviously lol). We are lucky to live in a beautiful cul-de-sac where all the neighbourhood kids spend their afternoons outside riding their scooters until it gets dark. I wouldn’t have life any other way 🙂

      • That’s really great! I live in Texas and I love the weather there but I have to say that sometimes I miss the green grass and pretty mountains in Washington where I’m from.

  3. I don’t have a TV, a while ago my cable for my laptop broke and while i was waiting for a new one to be delivered i had 5 days computer free too. I found i read a lot and did some of those jobs i keep putting off.

  4. I so agree with you on this one. I don’t watch TV unless there is something specific I want to see. My favorite pastime is reading. TV, like everything else, has its place, and can be entertaining and educational. The key is learning moderation.

  5. That is a great idea… I noticed last night when I turned the T.V. off, I got so much more useful things done…

  6. Lolz….my tv set for some odd reasons keeps on playing in the background, trying to gain my attention, but mostly in vain!But must say, some things tv teaches are good, except for teaching fingers how to KEEP ON surfing….So many channels, so little to see!

Leave a Reply

