A peaceful life

One of the things I feel truly blessed to have is a calm and peaceful life for my son and I.

I have strived to create a very relaxed and nurturing home environment for us, and I thought I would share some of my techniques for cultivating calm.

  • Avoid watching, or listening to, the news as much as possible.  See my earlier blog post here for more.
  • Listen to classical music.  Especially the “lighter” pieces.  This is my favourite radio station.
  • Lavender oil.  Not only is this fantastic essential oil relaxing, it also helps dispel negative energy.  Use it in an oil burner.  Sprinkle it on your pillow before bedtime.  Or wear it instead of perfume (to stay calm during the day).
  • Practice deep breathing.
  • Smile – even if you don’t initially feel like it.
  • Go for a walk everyday.  As you walk, use the opportunity to really notice your environment.  What can you see?  Hear?  Smell?
  • Practice meditation
  • Write out your intentions each morning.  Including the intention to be calm.
  • Sit in silence for at least 10 minutes each day.
  • Drink tea, mindfully.

and my favourite, and I most highly recommend:

  • Avoid harshness.
    Harsh speech.  Harsh thoughts.  Harsh influences.
    Be mindful of what you exposure yourself to.  For example – music, books, movies…
    Are they adding to your feeling of calm and peace?

I must admit that I used to read a lot of horror and crime novels.

Until I read this enlightening blog post:

I won’t Kill Bill

“On a personal level, I question how I can claim to dedicate myself to a life of peace and nonviolence when I’m watching movies like Predator and Goodfellas on the weekends.”

The points in the blog post can also be extended beyond movies, to what other influences you expose yourself to.

Reading this blog post really opened my eyes.  And made me aware of how I felt after reading those types of books – depressed, anxious and jumpy.

Now I tend to stick to non-fiction books.  I usually spend my time reading to learn something, or improve myself.

Remember that peace generates peace.  By cultivating calm and peace within ourselves, we influence those around us , thereby making them feel more calm as well.

Image

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

13 responses to “A peaceful life

  1. I love and use lavender oil too, I also have huge bushes of lavender growing in my garden…just cant get enough of it. I love this post isfs, especially the part about avoiding of harshness. Thank you so much.
    *hugs*

  2. Such wonderful suggestions! The energy of your home must be peaceful, indeed! And, I agree with you about cutting out the news and other TV programming. I made a conscious decision to cut them both out of my life, and that has paid really high dividends! Keep up the peaceful life, sista!

    • Thank you so much for your comment :-). I would love to hear more – what other things have you done in your life to promote peace?

      • Gosh–a whole change in lifestyle and lots of daily exercises that have, gradually and over time, helped to shift the quality of my thoughts from mostly negative to mostly happy. Gratitude lists, meditating on washing the dishes while washing the dishes, caring for plants as an extension of caring for self, smudging often with sage and sweetgrass, playing vibrationally healing music in my home to clear the space, giving Reiki to every room and to myself often…the list goes on. Looks like you have a great list, too:)

      • Thank you so much for sharing. I’m really interested to know more about smudging – I have heard of it, but don’t know much about it really. I am off to google 🙂

  3. I agree with you about the importance of watching what we expose ourselves to. There are some things in the world we can’t escape, just because we live on the planet. But, we do have the power to turn away from outside sources that are filled with violence, pron, and greed.
    Good post. Thank you.

  4. Pingback: Creating A Peaceful Space | Zen Being

  5. erranttranscendentalist

    I was so inspired by this post that I wrote one today on Creating A Peaceful Space. Thanks for your inspiration!! And, of course, I linked back to this post 🙂

  6. I absolutely love your posts! Thanks for the kind words on mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

