Everyday I’m sufferin’

In recent times I have tried to change my attitude towards events in my life that would have previously made me very stressed and tense.

It’s taken me a long time, but I’ve finally come to accept that things that happen are neither good or bad, they just “are”.  

By attaching a “this is a catastrophe” label, I am only increasing the stress and suffering for myself.

The first time I really noticed the shift in my attitude was about 12 months ago.

Every 12 months I have to go into the hospital to have test and biopsies done.  

This used to cause me enormous stress.  I would become increasingly anxious for days leading up to it.  I would stop eating, and sleeping.  I would cry throughout the entire procedure.  It left me feeling exhausted, physically and emotionally, for days afterwards.

Last year the hospital visit occurred 3 months after my marriage fell apart.

This time I was so focused on other things, and had so much on my mind, that the hospital visit barely even registered.

And I realised afterwards – the event itself was exactly the same.  Day in hospital, biopsies, results, then home.  However my attitude towards it was MUCH different.  

I just did it.

And the stress to myself that time was non-existent.

The events in our lives are going to happen whether we attach extra suffering and layers to them, or simply approach them calmly.  However the difference between these two options – to ourselves and our wellbeing – is huge.

Now I try not to attach labels, or levels, of “good”, “bad”, or “neutral” to life’s events.

I have a choice.

And I choice to be peaceful and happy.

And I am not going to allow events in my life – or rather my reaction to them – to take away from that happiness ♥

 

Image

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.” ~ Haruki Murakami

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

12 responses to “Everyday I’m sufferin’

  1. This is a really fabulous post isfs.
    *hugs*

  2. Thanks so much for your lovely comments Hope – you are wonderful :-). Big hugs ♥

  3. In case I haven’t told you that you are awesome, I’m going to tell you now! I have nominated you for the 7×7 Link Award because you and your blog are wonderful. Please go to http://momentumofjoy.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/muchas-gracias-for-the-7×7-link-award/ for details about the award. Love and light to you always! MoJo

  4. So true! Life’s not about what happens, it’s about how you perceive what happens.

  5. What a wonderful post – it’s amazing how we do our own heads in, isn’t it! Much love to you xx

  6. Pingback: Heartfelt thanks for the the 7×7 Link Award ♥ « istopforsuffering

  7. Pingback: Heartfelt thanks for the the 7×7 Link Award ♥ « istopforsuffering

  8. I love this post! Thanks so much for sharing. It is interesting, isn’t it, that so much of what we experience is not the external thing itself, but our beliefs and internal decisions about HOW we have, do, and will experience it. Thanks for this really relatable reminder.

Leave a Reply

