Resistance is futile

“Everything changes, nothing remains without change.” The Buddha

 

The one thing that I struggle with – still – is a resistance to change.

As a Buddhist, I can understand the concept of impermanence.  

However I’ve had many years of good practice as a control freak, and it’s a hard habit to release.

I thought I would dedicate today’s post to reminding myself why change is firstly unavoidable, and secondly – a positive thing ♥

Top reasons why change is good:

  • Change is exciting.  There are countless possibilities in each new situation.  
  • Change brings opportunity.  If you decide to make it a positive, fun, and enjoyable experience, then that is what it will be.
  • Without change there is no adventure.

 

How to overcome resistance to change:

“Smile, breathe and go slowly.” – Thich Nhat Hanh

  • Accept that you can’t control everything.
  • Be aware of your thoughts regarding a fear of change.  Then let them go.
  • Accept things as they are.
  • Breathe deeply.
  • Meditate.
  • View change as a series of small events.
  • Enjoy life as a flow of change, chaos and beauty
  • Focus outwardly instead of inwardly
 
For me personally, I have noticed that when I am anxious and depressed I am entirely inwardly focused.
 
If I can shift my focus outwards – towards others, or other activities, then I notice a big sense of relief.  And of “perspective”.

 

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.” – Lao-Tzu

Image

Be not afraid

About istopforsuffering

A page created to help spread love and kindness and positivity. Dedicated to making this world a better place, and making a difference in people's lives.

4 responses to “Resistance is futile

  1. Beautiful post about change, thank you.
    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

